Why you can’t work like a robot

James Taylor Foreman
3 min readOct 1, 2022

Meaning is something a robot can’t imagine.

Photo by Maximalfocus on Unsplash

My Roomba has a difficult time getting over the threshold in my hallway.

The thing will bang its little robot nose against the slight-too-high threshold for an hour before it either makes it or gives up and heads back to the dock.

Why does this thing have so much energy to ram a threshold, but I sometimes can’t summon the energy to move my little fingers around to type on a keyboard?

To many online self-help gurus, it’s just because I’m not disciplined enough.

But I think my resistance to doing the work is the heart of what it means to be human. I’m not a robot. I notice when my efforts seem futile. That’s good.

But I can’t just stop there. I have to figure out why I don’t want to do the work. That, I find, gets me to the deepest questions in my life. Why am I writing? Who am I trying to serve? What matters to me?

Until I have at least functional answers to those questions, I will stare at a threshold I can’t cross: the blank white page.

Ask yourself why you don’t want to do it

One man is struggling with a stone. He’s trying to pull it through the mud, cursing, and when you ask him what he’s doing, he says, “Trying to…

--

--

James Taylor Foreman

Essays bridging mythic meaning and the modern world. Click here to have them appear in your inbox some Saturday mornings --> https://www.taylorforeman.com/